Oakbrook Business School organised its first Business Plan Competition on 7th April 2016 on the topic “Engineer – as an Entrepreneur”.


The objective of this Competition was to encourage student entrepreneurs and support the growth of these entrepreneurs. The competition was kept open for all the Engineering colleges across India. All the teams were motivated to present new and innovative ideas. Finalists were given Seed amount money.

The programme started with lightening of lamp by all the dignitaries.


Ms. Shraddha Sheth, Academic Head of Oakbrook Business School acknowledged dignitaries with flowers and gave a welcome note. She also welcomed the participants from various institutions of Gujarat and appreciated them. She discussed about the objective of such programme and how it is important for the management institution to initiate such programs. It was very well received programme. In all about 25 students participated in the Competition.


Mr. S.B. Sareen, Head of Department, Entrepreneurship Development Institute of India was the Chief Guest of the event and took the first session on “Start-up India”, ”Make in India” and other projects in same line which are initiative taken by government to increase the livelihood and opportunities for start-up ventures to boost entrepreneurship and encourage job creation. He further quoted that Engineers are the architect of our nation and by giving the example of Mr. KarsanBhai Patel and Mr. Ambar Patel who was also one of the guest of the event.


Next speaker for the day was Mr. Ambar Patel who is the Managing Director, Shilp Gravures Ltd. Mr. Patel talked about the need of changing mindset of Indian People for doing Business by sharing his personal experience. He presented a virtual tour of his company and shared some of his incidents which he faced and solved during his working tenure. The students were highly motivated and inspired by his speech.


Next speaker of the event was Mr. Amitsingh Gohil who is Executive Director, TIE who is an expert in Industry-Academia collaborations and start up project feasibility. Firstly, he appreciated the efforts put in by Oakbrook Business School for taking an initiative for encouraging Engineer entrepreneurs.

He shared his experience in TiE and explained how they help in budding entrepreneurs by providing them help either financially or mentoring them or giving them incubators or assisting them in making networks. He invited all the participants to visit TiE for any help for start-ups.

Next distinguished speaker was Mr. Padmin Buch, Ex- MD GTCO & Project Consultant who talked about how one can make his business plan bankable and important points to be considered while making business plan. He talked about approaches to information collection, 4ps of marketing, information gathering method, specialised source of project finance. He explained the importance of SWOT analysis while preparing project plan by giving various examples. He also interacted with students by asking them questions.

Mr. Chandramauli Pathak, Director, mentor and advisor of innovation, incubation Entrepreneurship Development centre, Oakbrook Business School gave vote of thanks to all the guests for sparing their time and coming to Oakbrook Business School. He thanked participants for trusting a young school like OBS and participating in Business Plan Competition.

Post lunch all the participants visited Innovation, Incubation and Entrepreneurship Development Cell of Oakbrook Business School.

After that, much awaited Business Plan Competition started with much enthusiasm. Total 11 teams participated in the competition and presented their Business Plan in 10 minutes limit. The competition was judged by Mr. Bipin Shah, Senior Faculty, EDI, Ms. Nita Shah, Former chairperson Women Wing, GCCI and Mr. Chandramauli Pathak. All the ideas were unique and innovative thus after much discussion the 3 best winners were announced. The best three Business Plan Participants were provided with seed amount for their start-ups.


The certificate and seed money distribution alongwith vote of thanks was given by Mr. Chandramauli Pathak.